Traxxas Rustler with working 2 speed

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Armysolo

RCTalk Member
Military Veteran
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I've seen this asked a couple of times so I thought I'd share how I put a 2 speed in my Traxxas Rustler.

Some background:
This was my first nitro RC. I've been working on cars all my life but my background is IT and Engineering. I got the stadium truck from my dad. He bought it probably close to 15 years ago. He did the break in and started tuning the carb and the throttle hung and it met a curb. He put it in a box and that's where it laid until I asked him about it this past March. He gave me everything he had for it. When he hit the curb he broke the upper chassis deck which cost me $10 from our local RC shop. While I was there I decided to do the power up program and swap the old receiver and transmitter with a new TQI one and add a full waterproof receiver box.
20230325_174032.jpg

It took me a couple of hors of cleaning out the carb with brake cleaner and q tips before it'd slide like butter.