before i throw this thing away hpi rs4 WTF

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IzeusI

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
so i come from a tmaxx 2.5 with a 3.3 so i have some knowledge but this rs4 i can't get to run right, i see no low speed needel, no gear box, do on road cars have no gear boxes? the one time i did get it running the high speed was almost out and it moved very slowly and hardly any smoke was coming out of the exhaust? i included some pictures so maby some one can identify whats what. and any one know whats a drop in replacement motor for it? thanks for any help

2mn216a.jpg

xdh46q.jpg

9knvi9.jpg

Thats an early HPI 15 FE, it only has a single needle, no hi and low speed needles, you will never get a good tune with that pos carb. Take that engine off, use HPI's trade in program and for 65$ throw an HPI .18 on it

well stated thank you, I was just about to say looks kike the 15. will hpi give me the 18 with the trade program?

I have the RS4 Evo, which is a two-speed gearbox and shaft drive, but this is the previous model. This RS4 is a single speed and belt driven. There's no gearbox, per se, on the car. The older HPI small-blocks have a high-speed needle only, so yes, there's no low-speed needle like what you're used to on your trucks.

Do you know how much fuel has run through the engine? it's possible the pinch is gone, or you could have a serious air leak somewhere like an engine bearing or the primer in the fuel tank or something. I'd check the pinch (does the flywheel offer resistance and "pop" as it passes TDC?) and reseal the engine.