REVO 2.5 will many upgrades and just as many questions.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Traijin

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I recently purchased a REVO 2.5 off Ebay. I got what I paid for. 2.5 chassis with a Picco .26 Maxx. Piggy Back Shocks, aluminum A Arms, roll cage... blah blah blah. I am new to RC, but I have extensive experience with mechanical things, I served as Pitcrew for AMA Supercross and Motorcross for a few years and AMA Super Sport, Super Stock, and Super Bike for 3 years. So, I understand all the principles of suspension setup and two stroke motor tuning and adjustment. This RC will be used for "bashing" I just want to run around and have fun with it. On Saturday I stripped it down to the chassis to inventory the broken/bent parts. This activity yielded several questions I would like some help on.

1) Are there any benefits to converting from a 2.5 chassis to a 3.3 chassis? I understand the 3.3 is a bit longer, but is that dimension change reflected in the wheel base? I could see how adding an inch or so helps if the wheel base is extended. I have already priced the chassis, steering linkage, half shafts, and center brace, is there any real world benefit to control and handling?

2) The screw boss for the battery box/opti box to the lid is stripped. I need to replace the box. If I upgrade to a 3.3, is there any benefit to upgrading to the 3.3 battery box/opti drive configuration?

3) This truck's drive shafts were a mess, 3 stock plastic and 1 CVD. I have priced the Traxxas CVD's. Should I be looking at after market CVD's? What MFG?

4) When switch to CVD's do I need different sockets at the differential? On the one CVD on my truck there is a socket instead of a U Joint.