Need advice on leaning savage so it will start

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FORDSVTTHUNDER

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Most of you have read my thread about my new savage not starting. It's spraying a lot of raw nitro out of the exhaust when I'm trying to crank it. I understand the x4.6 comes with extreme rich factory settings. Tater suggested I lean out the hsn. How much should I lean it? Till there's little raw fuel coming out or none? Complete noob at nitro as you can see. Brand new truck and still haven't got it to crank.

That wasn't me. I just explained the clutch bell and one way bearing. Did you get this savage new? If so read the manual at least look it over and familiarize yourself with the exploded views and tuning guides and upkeep chart. If you think you want to lean it out a little then you would turn the hsn clockwise in 1/8 turn increments. Don't lean it out very much.

Sorry. I just reread that post and it was someone else. Yes it's brand new out of the box. I read the manual several times and watched videos online for almost a week before I attempted to start it. I heated it with a hair dryer and still no success. Glow plug is glowing hot but it won't even start to fire. So lean the hsn like the book says and leave the idle adj alone?