Nitro Slash high Idle and creeping issues, as well as redline without touching the gas.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ARandomNitroer

RC Newbie
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hey, I'm new to Nitro RC, just got my first yesterday, I tried to break it in in about 37 degrees Fahrenheit weather, it was working great until it reached about half a tank. It then started stalling, and the idle was creeping higher than it already was, and constantly fighting the breaks. (it already idled high, just thought it was normal.) I kept going through with the break-in, and it stalled twice more, both times it fired right back up. I was about 5/8 through the first tank, but then I didn't turn tight enough and got it stuck in the grass. I walked over to put it back on the sidewalk, but the minute I set down the controller and picked the truck up, the engine pretty much redlined without me touching the controller and then popped and died. it did fire right back up but kept wanting to idle high, but I shut it off before it could get too high. When It was running fine there was little to no smoke coming out of the exhaust, so is it running too lean? When I got it inside and let it cool for a bit I richened the high speed and low-speed needles while also lowering the idle with the screw. I have not fired it up again yet, but I will tomorrow, any advice?

I'm not that knowledgable on nitro, but 37F is way too cold, from what I have heard, 50F and higher is recommended for break in. Follow this tuning flowchart.

I'm not that knowledgable on nitro, but 37F is way too cold, from what I have heard, 50F and higher is recommended for break in. Follow this tuning flowchart.