Electronics for Latrax Teton

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stefan w

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi

I bought two used Tetons for my 6 year old son that wants a rc-car. Myself is totally new to this. Read a lot about overheated motors, servos,esc etc. Understand that brushless is a faster option but If you just look at durability, newbie, which is the way to go with upgrades. Feeling more confident with the chassiparts but not so much with the electronics. If you guys can help me out I'm thankful. Living in sweden so preferably ordering from EU.

/Stefan

I have no experience with the latrax cars, but I am using my Mini B racer build as reference.
PXL_20230610_025512513 (1).jpg

In my B:
King Val esc/motor combo (specs: 35A esc, 2435 6100kv motor, which is a bit too high for a offroad basher)
Savox Micro Servo (I believe its the SH-0255MG if I remember correctly)
Radio: RadioLink RC4FGM with RC8X
Batteries: Urgenex 1100 35C 2s LiPo (x2)

Stock Teton is brushed, which should be plenty for a small car like that, but yes, brushless is a bit faster (depending on what kv and gearing) and it is more reliable and efficient. On my 1/10 Traxxas cars, I burnt 4 Titan motors before upgrading to brushless. Which I got a speed boost from 25MPH to around 40MPH with same gearing and batteries.

(This is all bought in the US so I have no clue if any are available in the EU)

Just a reminder, when you put more power, you are risking stripping or breaking any driveline parts so be careful driving at first and get used to what it can do. ;)

Last edited: