WILL THIS AIR FILTER DO?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevo747

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
Hi guys Stevo here just questions to you guys as I’m a novice at nitro rc.
I’ve been thinking of buying a performance pipercross Air filter foam and cut to size to fit the standard nitro Carnage Rc.
Now will it give the car better performance?
I’ve got these filters in my motorcycle .
And you get better performance from them but that’s a bike a nitro car is a totally different thing just stabbing in the dark really to see what you guys think? I’ve attached a photo of the foam filter.
Please let me know guys good or bad idea?
Thanks once again Best Stevo.🤟🏻🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿👍

B1F1B130-A913-4560-BB74-EC78E261697D.jpeg

Here’s my beauty cheapish as I’m a novice this will do for now intill the hobby grabs me then on to bigger gear lol 😂

Attachments

• 7F88DE3D-9E91-4B45-AD98-FF1278F3786E.jpeg
    7F88DE3D-9E91-4B45-AD98-FF1278F3786E.jpeg
    438.8 KB · Views: 31
I think the RC filters have a finer-textured foam than ones for "small engines" like a lawnmower or dirtbike. This helps them trap finer particles and have a larger internal surface area to trap those particles. The increased performance comes from reduced restriction at the intake, but that also means grit and fine particles will get though the filter more easily.

Other small engines have piston rings, which means they can afford to ingest a little bit of dust without losing compression. Nitros count on a tolerance fit between the piston and cylinder, so even a little contamination will inflict wear. Ringed nitro engines exist, but are only found in higher displacements intended for helicopter use.

The filter isn't an expensive part of a nitro engine, and it protects much more valuable components.