Should I start into this hobby?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xdeserted

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I’m a complete newb when it comes to hobby trade RC cars, but know some basics like brushless is faster and more upgradeable.. however the cost is too high for me to continuously upgrade so I was thinking of a brushed RTR vehicle. I have been looking at the Traxxas slash, and the Losi 2ss magnaflow which are both relatively cheap, and appear to be fun. Which one would you guys recommend? Is there another option I should be looking at other than these? I don’t plan on going racing, more so just using it around the yard with my 6 year old son for fun. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give!

If you wanna stay Big Bang super cheap, redcat is a great choice,
Next level in price would be traxxas , the joy of traxxas is its parts availability is everywhere,
Losi builds one heck of a machine, but ... I’m not 100 percent sure on pricing or a availability, but I can say for sure the redcat comes brushless and is complete for the same price as a brushed traxxas, and losi is a bit higher than either or of the other, ultimately it’s what you choose,

If you wanna stay Big Bang super cheap, redcat is a great choice,
Next level in price would be traxxas , the joy of traxxas is its parts availability is everywhere,
Losi builds one heck of a machine, but ... I’m not 100 percent sure on pricing or a availability, but I can say for sure the redcat comes brushless and is complete for the same price as a brushed traxxas, and losi is a bit higher than either or of the other, ultimately it’s what you choose,
I should also mention I have a traxxas rustler on steroids, a redcat volcano epx pro , and have had experience around losi