RedCat XTE Blackout full throttle without being on

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Hey guys, newbie here. I just recently purchased an XTE Blackout. Already went with a LIPO 2s 7.4V 5000Mah upgrade from the stock NIMH 7.2V 3000Mah. Ran fine for a while, today it overheated and started smoking. Turned everything off and let it cool. Took it apart and took pictures of how wires were connected to the servo. Hooked it all back up and now the car accelerates full throttle as soon as I plug the battery in, with the car being in the ON or OFF position. It doesn't matter. Never ran into this before. Also tried to check continuity with the switch being ON/OFF and nothing would register. Any suggestions?
 

Addict Rc

RCNT Addict
Build Thread Contributor
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
756
Location
Massachusetts
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Did you put it on lipo mode or is it still on nimh mode?
Is your remote broken and stuck in full throttle?
Can you upload some pictures I might be able to figure out your problem
 

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Did you put it on lipo mode or is it still on nimh mode?
Is your remote broken and stuck in full throttle?
Can you upload some pictures I might be able to figure out your problem
Yes I will, upload pics when I get home from work today. I have switched it to LIPO mode, I made sure of it. This is the 3rd time I've ran a battery through it on LiPO batteries. To my knowledge the remote is not broken. Also the remote is not on when it does this. Everything is off and go to plug the battery in and it just goes full tilt.
 

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
20220501_203159.jpg

This is the picture I took before I took it apart last night.
I'll get more tonight, and better in focus. Lighting was terrible last night.
The, whole car without body, motor, esc, reciver and radio
I forgot to reply with a pic. I think I got it now
 

RET4RD

RCNT Qualifier
Messages
148
Reaction score
118
Location
Logan, UT
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
If it runs in the off position you might have melted a wire or two. Check everything, ESC and the on/off switch, to check that the wiring is still intact.
 

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
If it runs in the off position you might have melted a wire or two. Check everything, ESC and the on/off switch, to check that the wiring is still intact.
The on/off switch appears to be double sided sticky taped on. Nothing seems to appear melted from what I can see externally.
Here is a video on it
 

Attachments

  • 20220502_170301.jpg
    20220502_170301.jpg
    202.6 KB · Views: 24
  • 20220502_170454.jpg
    20220502_170454.jpg
    222.6 KB · Views: 26
  • 20220502_170326.jpg
    20220502_170326.jpg
    329.9 KB · Views: 26

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Currently I am stuck without a bind plug. Never had to bind it out of the box and I kept everything from the box but I don't see a bind plug.
 

Mrgoodwrench35

RCNT Talkaholic
Messages
283
Reaction score
261
A bind plug is simply a jumper from the signal pin to the ground pin. You could simulate the same thing with a paper clip.
Are you sure the esc isn't turning on as soon as you plug the battery in?
I know this is late advice, but its important to watch the motor and esc temps while your playing to make sure they don't overheat. Get a cheap laser temp reader (https://www.amazon.com/General-Tool...646&sprefix=temp+reader+rc+car,aps,153&sr=8-3) and just check motor and esc every 10 min or so to see where your at. I try to keep motor temps below 160 max and esc lower than that, maybe 120. If its getting hot enough to smoke, thats way beyond those temps and you might need to gear down a bit to get it to run cooler.
If your switch isn't shorted and the wires coming out of the esc aren't melted, then you've likely damaged the esc.
 

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
A bind plug is simply a jumper from the signal pin to the ground pin. You could simulate the same thing with a paper clip.
Are you sure the esc isn't turning on as soon as you plug the battery in?
I know this is late advice, but its important to watch the motor and esc temps while your playing to make sure they don't overheat. Get a cheap laser temp reader (https://www.amazon.com/General-Tools-IRT3-Thermometer-Detector/dp/B01LWLE8QJ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=1SI86BU4RN707&keywords=temp+reader+rc+car&qid=1651530646&sprefix=temp+reader+rc+car,aps,153&sr=8-3) and just check motor and esc every 10 min or so to see where your at. I try to keep motor temps below 160 max and esc lower than that, maybe 120. If its getting hot enough to smoke, thats way beyond those temps and you might need to gear down a bit to get it to run cooler.
If your switch isn't shorted and the wires coming out of the esc aren't melted, then you've likely damaged the esc.
All I know for sure is that the switch to my remote and the switch to the car are off and as soon as I plug my battery in it goes. I tried to turn the controller and the car on after it had already went full tilt but nothing can control it other than disconnecting the battery.
 

Mrgoodwrench35

RCNT Talkaholic
Messages
283
Reaction score
261
Do any lights come on when you plug in the battery? On the esc that is
 

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20220502-190601_Video Player.jpg
    Screenshot_20220502-190601_Video Player.jpg
    187.5 KB · Views: 21
  • Screenshot_20220502-190453_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20220502-190453_Gallery.jpg
    198.6 KB · Views: 18

Mrgoodwrench35

RCNT Talkaholic
Messages
283
Reaction score
261
Then I would first try re binding the reciever. WOT is usually default when the transmitter isn't connected.
 

Mxracer629

RCNT Rookie
Messages
24
Reaction score
12
Then I would first try re binding the reciever. WOT is usually default when the transmitter isn't connected.
Which pin is the signal pin and which is the ground pin on the bind area if I was to jump it with a paperclip?
 
Top