Losi LST XXL on its way

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TOoSmOotH

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Won an auction yesterday on a losi XXL and its on its way. Got it for the cost of a roller. Has an HPI 5.9 on it. I am curious if I should stick with that motor or switch to something else?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I would suggest another motor. The K5.9 is thirsty and the quality is hit or miss. I'd say look into the LRP or maybe a good OS or even a Picco.

Nice! Those trucks are beasts. I have no experience with the 5.9 but from what I've heard are finicky, I'd take the money you saved since you said you got it for the price of a roller and put one of the motors suggested above. I was looking at a lrp30 to put in my aftershock before I sold it and bought a savage flux, love nitro but for the next 2 years I don't see much time for the hobby especially nitro with working part time and school full time.

Yea I will see how the motor works first. I do plan on getting the electric conversion for the winter months. I'm hoping the motor on it can get me through the season.

I have the 5.9 and it's a great motor once you seal it. I've had a good run with mine and when it does kick the bucket I'll be looking into the LRP .32.

I'm putting a Picco .28 on mine as soon as I get it modded by Robin but if you want something more budget friendly with good power Id look at the stock motor, its a rebadged LRP .28 spec 3. It ran as good or better than any other "budget cost" engine I've used.

Yea I have been looking at some of the chop shop motors in case the 5.9 sucks.