Job at the LHS

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cupooterluvr

Hardcore RCTalk User
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
So I was thinking of getting my first job behind the RC counter at my LHS. I just have some questions to ask beforehand.

• What kind of experience would you recommend I have before taking the job? I want to be able to help customers without being wrong or biased.
  • For any of the people who have previously worked at an LHS, what kinds of things do people routinely ask of you? I need to know more than parts for cars and trucks.
  • Would you recommend taking the job even if I have NO experience in either planes, boats, or helis? Even if I don't know this someone else will right?
  • With only about a year's experience in the hobby (I'll take the job this summer, so I'll really have about 1.5) do you think I have the knowledge to do it? After all I don't want to get asked to fix a tuning problem and blow up the engine.
I just want to make the right decision in getting my first job. Both to support my hobby and to buy my first car! I also want to know what it's like since I've never had a job.

Last edited:
Well... considering about 98% of the advice I've received at my 4 LHS's has all been bad, there's a good chance you could show up, punch a kid in the face and he runs screaming from the store. That would have been better than half the crap I've received as "advice"...

Sorry... <end rant>.