Starter truck for competition build? (Class 2 / Sportsman)

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blarfnort

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
For those of you who are into competitions, I'd love some advice please. I'm trying to decide which vehicle to build. My first comp will be this coming weekend; I'm going to use my 1/10 Capra.. they said it was fine as long as I disable the rear steer. As a newbie, I'm in no danger of beating anybody... especially with a top-heavy Capra.

1. The new Element Sendero Sport SE. Just announced, this one looks interesting. Servo on axle, room for a servo winch, a 4-channel radio so I don't have to switch radios, the motor is positioned more to the front for better weight distribution, and the transmission can be upgraded to front overdrive. I'd have to upgrade all the links, but that's fine... I'd also probably switch to metal-body shocks.

2. Axial Base Camp. Better clearance and lower center of gravity than the TRX-4 Sport... not sure about overdrive -- are there other ring/pinion options for the axles, since the transmission doesn't do it?

3. TRX-4 Sport. Stiffer chassis, but almost a pound heavier. I don't know enough about this one.

4. Vanquish VS4-10 Phoenix. Seems very durable. I don't know enough about this one either, like in terms of clearances, center of gravity, etc. I know it has room for a servo winch though.

Thoughts?

For those of you who are into competitions, I'd love some advice please. I'm trying to decide which vehicle to build. My first comp will be this coming weekend; I'm going to use my 1/10 Capra.. they said it was fine as long as I disable the rear steer. As a newbie, I'm in no danger of beating anybody... especially with a top-heavy Capra.