Replacement Glow Plug.. What should I get?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dreams3577

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm completely new to Nitro RC (Got a number of electric cars) and I am in need of some advice...

I have just purchased a secondhand Caster Racing ZX-1.5R Buggy
http://www.hobbyfabriken.se/en/caster-racing/587-caster-zx-15.html

and it has a Go Tech 28 Engine in it
http://www.hobbyism.co.nz/hl-nitro-car-parts/nitro-engines/go-tech-28-nitro-engine.html

The engine has a glow plug in it and the only markings on it is Q-9, I need a replacement, But I just don't know what buy..

Please can someone post a link to what I should replace the glow plug with

many thanks
Steve

What percentage of nitro are using in your fuel?

Hi.. I need to get fuel, I know it's nitro fuel, but again what should I get? Links please..

Q9 is a megatech Cold plug. I don't think it's a turbo plug. I run 20% Byron Original in all my engines. I would get a medium plug myself, but... that's me.

Q9 is a megatech Cold plug. I don't think it's a turbo plug. I run 20% Byron Original in all my engines. I would get a medium plug myself, but... that's me.

Thanks.. My local RC shop only sells 5%, 12%, 18% or 30%
http://alshobbies.com/shop/cat.php?id=825
is 18% close enough or should I get 30%? and would the plug need to change based on the % ?? if so what plugs for which?

Thanks for the help...

Personally if those were the options I'd either deal with 18 or get 18 and 30 and mix it half and half. Again with a medium plug.

Best bet is to take your ride into the hobby shop and see what they recommend. I don't know where you are or what your climate is like.