RC Equipment for a Gaff Rigged Sailing Scow / Need Advice

• Thread starter Susquehanna River Rat
  • Start date

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Susquehanna River Rat

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Scale Builder
  2. Boating
I am currently working on a 1/18 scale, scratch built, wooden model of The Chesapeake Bay Sailing Scow "Elsie of Havre de Grace" and want to install RC equipment in the boat to operate everything. I have little experience with RC but with a little help, I am sure I can make this work........can't I ? :oops:
So here goes...
Servo 1. Rudder (easy)
Servo 2. Main Boom (Winder type) The main boom will be free floating and operate like the real one. The servo line will let out and bring in the boom to trim the main sail.
Servo 3. Main Sail (Winder type) Raising and lowering the main sail. This line will be attached to the Gaff to raise and lower the main sail. This could also be used to trim the sails. Not sure if it will work or not but it should.
Servo 4. Jib Boom (Winder type) Like Servo 2 but but for the Jib Sail Boom.
Servo 5. Jib Sail (Winder type) Like Servo 3 but for the Jib Sail
Servo 6. Starboard Lee Board. Because the boat is flat bottomed and does not have a keel like normal sail boats, it utilized what are called "Lee Boards". These are mounted on the sides of the boat and only one of them (the "Leeward" or downwind side Lee Board is in the water. The upwind lee board is raised.) I am not sure how to attach them to the servo.
A direct attachment or probably better a belt or chain drive. The just need to go up and down a short way.
Servo 7. Same as Servo 6 but Port side.