[Noob question] Engine turns on but no more throttle response

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aeromotive

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi all.

I'm new to the hobby. My model is a Kyosho DBX 2.0 which I got as a gift.
Last year I asked a question on the forums about a broken throttle servo horn, which I replaced after getting the parts, with the right part number in my manual.

After fixing this, I took the car for a spin and after 20 minutes of fine tuning my needles (the car had been stored for a while), the throttle stopped answering. I still got steering response and the engine was still on. However the throttle servo horn wouldn't move... the car was just siting still :(

Anyone knows what's going on? Did I break something while replacing my servo horn? How can I diagnose this? Is it better to take it to my LHS? I would love to get the car up and running again... looks like a silly problem. But is it?

Thanks.
Aeromotive.

Last edited:
Take the horn off the servo and see if the sevo still move. If not you may need a new servo. If it dose move check the servo and horn for being striped.

Thanks. I didn't take the horn off, however I did something similar. In the following picture you see the servo through a very small gap between the horn and the case of the servo. (sorry for the quality it's a phone picture)

9ats2d.jpg

I went to a very silent room and looked very closely at the servo while I hit the throttle. I couldn't hear anything, and the servo was clearly not turning. Is this a reliable test?

I'm guessing something is wrong with the servo itself?

Last edited:
Yep seems its time for a new and better than stock servo. Get yourself a savox sc0251mg. Ebay has them for $38 free shipping.

Thanks!