No Clue Where to Start

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chuck110

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi All,

New to the forum (and the RC world in general). I've always been interested but never had a good enough excuse....

Well, I have a 3 year-old son that is OBSESSED with monster trucks (I may have helped with that). I got him a cheap RC Gravedigger for Xmas. The base boards in my house hate it but he LOVES it. That said, here's my question....

How would you recommend I get started in "real" RC monster trucks? I'd like to have a couple years of experience before he starts building his own (with my help). I have ZERO experience but I pick things up fairly quickly.

I don't think I want something "ready to run". I'd rather get some sort of "kit" and put it together myself. I'd prefer not to drop too much $$ on my first go-round. What does everybody recommend in terms of best-value starter kit?

Thanks in advance!

first welcome to RCT!!!!
as far as a kit, i dont know really what the options are, kits are kind of rare these days, and typically cost more than an RTR because they upgrade some of the parts past was RTR versions include.
as far as "realistic" trucks, few options off the top of my head, first would be the HPI "wheely king" i personally have owned this truck and has been alot of fun, dropped a 3300kv Brushless system (brushed is stock and is quite tame compared to the brushless counterpart, i advise looking into brushed/brushless differences) and it was quite insane has locked diffs too so could have added to that. in factory for it comes with a 27t (higher turns slower the motor but more torque) which is pretty mild, but nonetheless had a great time with it (was my first hobby grade RC, and still have it).