New to upgrading shocks , help?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emry7368

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
Hi , I'm relatively new to the rc hobby and I have a ftx vantage Brushless. I was looking to see if it was even possible to get any different length shocks to raise the ride hight , is it possible to get completely different shocks? Sorry if it's really obvious

You should be able to use longer shocks, but that would be limited by the dog-bones. Unless, you can replace it with longer dog-bones as well.
You could just raise the ride height with larger wheels/tires.

What's the reason to increase ride height? Higher ride height and higher speed don't mix well.

Hi! Thanks for your response , could you help me find ( or point me in the right direction) of some bigger shocks and dog bones please. Much appreciated

Hi! Thanks for your response , could you help me find ( or point me in the right direction) of some bigger shocks and dog bones please. Much appreciated
Sorry, I'm not familiar with FTX products. You would just have to measure the stock dog-bones and shocks, and go from there.

have you tried different shock tower positions to raise the car ? this should in theory be possible without spending a dime.
i know for cornering experience this method should be avoided because it could make your car handle worse or better.

have you tried different shock tower positions to raise the car ? this should in theory be possible without spending a dime.
i know for cornering experience this method should be avoided because it could make your car handle worse or better.
I had a look but the positions are so close together it barely adds anything

I had a look but the positions are so close together it barely adds anything