New to metalworking any good books out there?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sur3fir3

RCTalk Addict
Reaction score
I've decided to quit doing computer work in my spare time, and pick up metal working. I went and purchased a decent drill press which many of you know, and am currently seeking out a milling machine, and a lathe. I was wondering if there were any good books someone could recommend on working with these machines, and doing metal fab in general. I need something for a real beginner. I have no experience with woodworking, metal working, or anything of the sort. I barely know the difference between a router bit and a tapping bit. I do plan on using the internet for information, but I would like to pic up some books on the subject as well, because I just learn better when I can actually hold the book, highlight it and etc.

This is the milling machine I have my eye on.

http://www.micromark.com/microlux-high-precision-heavy-duty-r8-miniature-milling-machine,9616.html

84630_R.jpg

Last edited:
Router bits smooth edges, tapping bits make threads/or increase the diameter of existing threads.
Funny I wish I knew more about computers. I'm at the buy a lap top use it till it doesn't turn on anymore then I get a new one stage

---------- Post added at 8:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 8:27 PM ----------

Nice machine, birthday or Christmas present for yourself?

Haha, same reason I bought a can-am 1000 cc renegade.

Sur3fir3,I can't personally recommend any particular books for you but if have any specific questions once you get started,I'd be happy to help with some tips/pointers :thumbup: