New here, looking for tips and to introduce myself.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2GMitsubishi

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Howdy I'm Dennis and I've been a mechanic on gas, Diesel engines as well as all kinds of machinery for the last Ten solid years. Done everything from an oil change to swapping motors to make a race deadline.
I am naturally falling in love with Nitro RC because to be honest here, They are temperamental and finicky like a Race Car is and thats the part of Wrenching I love the most.

Well what I've got right now is a Volcano S30 with the .18SH engine and what I've done so far went like this.
5 tanks for break in one to idle through, one at each 1/4 throttle increment until at full throttle with 15min rest breaks in between each tank and yep I had it at BDC for the break periods.
After that I upgraded the shock supports with aluminum so the truck doesn't drive like a piece of plastic anymore and has some kind of righty.
Next up was a fuel filter of corse followed by a Mild port and polish job on the sleeve ".5mm deep and 2.5mm long fangs. I also rounded out the bottom of the sleeve and polished that as well.
Next up was the piston skirt, It was rounded and polished at the bottom of the skirt to help with packing and cycling through the 2 strokes.
It runs great much better than it did during break in @Full Throttle.
I do have a question about steering related to suspension set up. I have a high ride level and in return my steering does not want to move due to a jammed servo turnbuckle. If I lower the truck then no issues.
My question is how do I ride high and be able to steer still? Washers on the steering linkage?
I've already flipped the shackles and that helped but only a little.