need help with selecting an ESC

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JustnWynn

RCTalk Racer
Military Veteran
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm new here, new to the hobby, new to the forum.
I've been trolling around looking for answers for a while, but now i find that i need to ask some questions:
So here's what I've got:
1000000276.jpg
1000000277.jpg

What your looking at is a Maisto Rockzilla 8.6v. they're not in production any more as far as i know. they have a rockzilla but its smaller than this one now. this one is about 16" long.
short story I'm a mechanic by trade, found this old toy grade thing that my wife got me a few years back, so i decided to tinker around with it after some studying... i start thinking "you know, you've got a small 12v battery floating around somewhere... wouldnt be cool if you could get that to work!??"
1000000281.jpg

yeah... not so much. fwd and reverse work just fine but i burned out the steering motor or esc. alright, cool
so I've watched videos and searched forums. but i'm not really finding what it is that i'm looking for... a dummies explanation or a list of where i need to spend money to upgrade this dumb toy for absolutely no reason just because i can :D:thumbs-up:

alright.. FINALLY!! what does this guy want.. right??
here we go. plain and simple, really ... i wanna put it on a 3sLipo.
heres what i've got so far reciever and servo:
1000000282.jpg

so heres my questions:
there are a TON of esc's out there so i wanted some suggestions on good AFFORDABLE ones...?
also being that its a dual motor 4wd, do i need 2 esc's for propulsion or just one?
do i need yet another for the steering servo i plan on installing?
did i get screwed when i got that servo or reciever and they wont work with a 3s?