Mamba X + new castle engine

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunnyspanker

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi all!

looking to upgrade ESC and engine on my slash Ultimate and want to go with Mamba X for ESC but having a hard time figuring out which engine to go for (running on 3s at the moment)

Castle recommended their 1415 engine 2400kv but more than one said I would actually loose power on that compared to the 3500kv stock Traxxax engine. I also had a look at their 1512 at 2650kv and 1515 at 2200kv as I believe those also fit.

I am fairly new to RC and this just feels as a jungle the more I read about it. Surely these engines should be better than the stock one given their price?

Any thoughts / opinions / expertise would be greatly appreciated!

I am not looking to do speed runs here, I mainly bash and I would just like the car to be stronger. Sensor motor is also something I really like, to get rid of the clogging at low speeds.

/Andreas

The higher the kv. The more rpms you get. And less torque.. lower the kv. More torque and rpm speed. It's all in the gearing.

id go with the 1515 motor not a engine(wrong terminology)3 cell on a 2 wd slash is going to be hard on the rest of the truck.

That 2200 will rip your trans apart. You want to go 3000 or higher. Really in a sct they are built more for speed not tourqe.. you definitely want higher kv with the motor. Electric cars have motors and nitros have engines just a heads up 😉👍👍

Hi all!

looking to upgrade ESC and engine on my slash Ultimate and want to go with Mamba X for ESC but having a hard time figuring out which engine to go for (running on 3s at the moment)