lipos questions

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coactjet

RC Newbie
Reaction score
So i just goty first set of 6s lipos, so this is my first time charging them. They are 60c 6000mah hoovo brand. Set the charger up at 6amps, and the one side read 6.0amps the other was 2.0. so i stopped the charge to make sure the other battery was good. Checked out ok started the charge again. This time the readings were flip flopped. I am assuming i have reached the max output on ac , but i just want to confirm

Yup. You topped out the capability of your charger.

You have reached maximum watts of charger... That 2 amp charge wont hurt the battery .. maybe only charge 1 battery at a time to reach desired amps on charging...
Purchased a very expensive meter years ago when we in rc got the ir bug(maybe 2004 ish).it sits on a shelf collecting dust..I find ir useless to most bashers ,good for wanna be racers but .you can tell when a battery has reached its usable time

...I find ir useless to most bashers ....you can tell when a battery has reached its usable time...
To elaborate on this, I used to believe that visible appearance was sufficient where I would wait for signs of pack swelling to be my indicator of when I felt it was time to replace an older pack. It wasn't until I experienced a LiPo fire in my house while charging a pack that had no visible signs of swelling that I learned the importance of checking the IR. Fortunately I was able to get the pack outside before the pack burst into flames, but enough smoke had filled our home where it took SEVERAL WEEKS for the stank to clear out of the house... my wife was not impressed to say the least.