Battery Questions from a noob: Is it safe to temporarily dip below 6.5V on a 2S?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

msf567

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi all!

This is my first post and I'm brand new to the hobby, so please bear with me if this question has been asked before, I did some searching and I couldn't find it on my own.

Basically I have battery power telemetry set up on my Losi Mini-B so I get a real-time reading of the battery voltage.

My car is set up with some 1/16 slash tires on them (bigger than the stock), and a Surpass Hobby brushless motor.

On my transmitter, I set my alarm to go off at 6.5 volts (i'm running a 2S lipo), and it dips below that when I go full throttle and then returns to 7.8 etc (safe voltages) when I return to neutral.

My question is: Should i be concerned about this, and set throttle limits so it literally NEVER dips below that number? Or is that to be expected and I shouldn't worry?

If it is of concern, how can I resolve the issue so my voltage stays above 6.8 or whatever is safe? Bigger motor, different ESC, etc...

Thanks for reading, excited to be here!

what you cutoff is reading .is the battery underload... battery will be ok .. at end voltage you could go lower in cutoff and still be safe.

Ok, so I should only be concerned about the battery voltage at neutral?

On my transmitter, I set my alarm to go off at 6.5 volts (i'm running a 2S lipo), and it dips below that when I go full throttle and then returns to 7.8 etc (safe voltages) when I return to neutral.

My question is: Should i be concerned about this, and set throttle limits so it literally NEVER dips below that number? Or is that to be expected and I shouldn't worry?