Hot racing diff for 2wd slash

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PAC

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Just installed Hot racing sealed diff in my 2wd race slash.
Anyone use this and have experience with choosing proper diff weight oil.?

I personally just use mobile 1 synthetic grease in my diffs.

IMG_8485.jpg

It's cheap for the amount you get and can be found at most auto parts stores.

Diff oils and shock oil are all something that have to be tuned to your preference but heres some info I found on another site that may prove useful. I have no personal experience with it. These two guys were talking specifically about the HR diff for the 2wd slash and racing it.

The Hot Racing diff for the 2wd uses the stock planetary gears internally, and they are not like the gears in a bevel gear equipped differential. You will need oil of 30,000wt or greater, depending on your driving surface. If you put in the typical oil from a 4x4 diff (5k, 7k, 10k, etc) you would notice no difference at all. The tiny gears will just whip it into a foam and render it useless. I run 100,000wt and 120,000wt most often in loose/dusty conditions. A buddy of mine has fun 300,000wt in his. In general, the higher traction the surface, the lower the oil weight.

Dr Isotope
(The guy that posted the above statement) is correct. The Traxxas gear design requires a heavier fluid to be effective than other design diffs. I am running 100k on mine for a very tricky low grip outdoor track. I just started running a high bite tight indoor course and believe the diff is too thick for that course. I will be dropping to 50k or so at my next rebuild. Anything much less than 10-15k in the slash rear end is about like the grease that was in it stock!