Frustrated with the Losi 8IGHT RTR first run

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ptrthgr8

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Nitro newbie here.. Spent a few weekends breaking in the .21 Dynamite engine, got it running really smoothly using 30/9 fuel, and this weekend was its first test run. Overall, it was a pretty disappointing day. This ~30 second run was pretty much the first run, and certainly the longest run. Using the same 30/9 fuel, I just couldn't get the motor tuned properly so it would keep running. I could get it to idle reliably, and starting was never an issue (started consistently on the first or second pull each time), but any time I went anywhere near full throttle, the engine would die - exactly what happened in this clip: probably hit 75% throttle for most of the run, then came around and went to 100% throttle and the engine died. I'm sure the high point setting is all screwed up now, so I'll have to go back to the drawing board on this one.

I knew nitro was more finicky than electric, but I really had hoped the first time out would be better. Oh well... still sounds better than electrics. :)

Check out THIS thread if you havent already. Particularly the Nitro Tuning Flow Chart. I printed out a copy of this and I keep it in my backpack in case I ever have an issue with tuning I fall back on that flow chart. Usually helps me get it sorted out. Tuning nitro when you're first starting out isnt the easiest thing to learn so dont get discouraged. Youll get there!

Are you checking your engine temps? I dont see a smoke trail in your video. An engine dying at WOT is possibly going lean and overheating which is very bad.
Do you have a temp gun? They are cheap insurance.