electric rc helicopters

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul11277

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi, I got my son a syma dragon fly for christmas. Its only 2 channel but great fun. So now i am thinking i might get my self a 3 or channel helicopter. I only want an electric one untill i have learned to fly it. I have been looking at the walkera's either the 5-4 or the 004 or even the 60. But since i am a beginner i am open to suggestions. I dont want a tiny one because i am not to fussed about flying indoors. I have heard mixed reoprts about the walkera brand some saying it used to be good but not anymore. Others say they have allways been good and lots say they have real problems with the servo's. The last comment would make sense because the walkera 60 i was looking at has had all the servos changed for pentium servo's. If you would like to suggest a different manufacturer then please do. I was only looking at walkera because there are plenty of parts available for them in the uk.

go take a look at the Blade CX2 and the Blade CP. they're two of the more popular beginner helicopters around.

I have concerns about the Walkera products. They have had a long history of less-than-stellar quality. Many stories of electronics failing and such. I have an E-sky Belt CP that is very comparable in price to the Walkera's, but better in quality, I feel. It is roughly the size of a T-rex or MX-450. Even some of the parts are interchangeable. It is available in many forms from fully ready-to-fly, to almost-ready-to-fly (you provide the transmitter and receiver) or just a bare-bones bird with no electronics. You will have to provide batteries unless you can find a good combo. I recommend LiPo's for these kind of birds.