DR10 Kit - Opinions on Motor/esc/servo?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tstutsman

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I picked up a DR10 kit for $150 with some Amazon gift cards. Awhile back I picked up the Sling Shot SLV2 motor.

See it here (https://www.amainhobbies.com/ecopow...less-drag-racing-motor-4.5t-ecp-8004/p1316089)

I am looking for a good ESC to pair it with? Obviously has to be brushless and sensored, but is there anything else I need to know. I don’t really want to spend $200 but I also don’t like to lose 😂 this is my first build. Have an RTR Losi 22s also.

You didn't say what battery size you're using, but I think Hobbywing has a sensored version of their 120A ESC (2S/3S), and I'm sure I've seen it on Amazon...

You didn't say what battery size you're using, but I think Hobbywing has a sensored version of their 120A ESC (2S/3S), and I'm sure I've seen it on Amazon...
Your talking about the 10BL120 G1
120A sensored. 4.5T is the limit which he has.
You.can probably run that motor with that 10BL120 ESC, just watch temps.
My uncle ran a 4.5sct off-road motor with a Hobbywing V2.1 (10BL120 is like the revised version of it) in his 4wd SCT back in the day, he always watched the gearing and temps.

But just to be safe, id get a XR10 Pro (legacy) which is 160A and for sure can handle that motor. Funny thing is my uncle has a xr10 Pro in his short course with the same motor, it worked good, but soon after he fried it. No reverse polarity detection. Watch what you are doing! I also run a xr10 Pro in my.4wd wheeler, but I run a 13.5 in that so my electronics always stay super cool.

For servo, you don't need one, cause your only going straight. Lol 🤣