DHK Maximus - Help needed !

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Quai18

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi everyone !

I am a newbie here, I got my first RC about one year ago.

I made quite a lot of research, and I wanted to buy an Arrma BLX (kraton, and then Outcast), but the prices were too high for me, and I thought I should get something cheaper as a first RC.
Therefore, I bought a DHK Maximus because I thought it was the best RC I could get for less than $300.
Very similar to the DHK Zombie, but wider, better ESC (120A), 2x 2S batteries from stock, and myabe some improved part here and there (no problem with Differential outdrives for the moment).

Quite happy with it, but if I could do it again, I would buy a Granite BLX : awesome truck for the money !!!

Anyway, maybe I will sell my DHK Maximus soon to buy the Granite BLX, but I have a problem I need to fix before. My Maximus is making a strange noice when braking. Noise (seems to) come from the front diff. I recorded a video but we can't hear much... In real, the noise i very loud, sounds like some pinion or something isn't working as it should. Here is a link to the 2 videos I made : https://photos.app.goo.gl/3Mf5tY5KdF8edRC66
I hadn't got this noise before, and there is no noise if I do the same (accelerating, and then braking) with the front wheels off the RC.

What do you think ?

If I need to open the front diff and change something, should I also put some new oil in the front diff ? If yes, should I then put/change oil on all diffs ?
I was searching a lot, but the recommendation on RC forums are from 10k to 50k for the front, 30k to 120k in the middle, and 5k to 60k in the rear diffs.
Would go in the middle if I need to, like 30k in the front, 100k middle, and 30k rear. Does it sound OK for you ?