Current 1/10 - Upgrading to 1/8 - Advice Needed

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rayden-23

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here. My name is Julian and i'm from Melbourne, Australia.

I've had an 1/10 HBX Wildfire with a 15CXP engine for about 2-3 years. Over that time I've learnt about nitro cars and realised what a pain in the rear end the 15CXP is regarding tuning. Don't think I've ever had the thing running optimally without engine problems or breaking something. Frustrating!

Anyway I'm now looking to a new model and upgrading to 1/8 as I've been told 1/8 has become very popular now, as popular as 1/10 or maybe ahead.

Taking into account i still consider myself as learning the in's and out's of nitro I've been working with a budget of about $300-$500 range.

Two cars I've looked at online in Hobby Shops within Australia are the HPI 1/8 3.5 Trophy and the Kyosho 1/8 Inferno Neo 2.0.

Any advice on these two vehicles would be much appreciated such as the obvious if one is better than the other, and top speeds for each model. I'm unsure whether id ever be racing apart from with a mate so for me its about speed and bashing.

Thanks for welcoming me here and appreciate all comments and feedback.

Cheers all!

I would recommend the HPI over the Kyosho because HPI has better parts availability in my experience. It's a pain to try and find Kyosho parts whereas most of the local hobby shops (LHS) have the HPI stuff in stock.

I'd go for the HPI for that same reason.

Do you have a hobby shop? Any idea on what they stock for parts for 1/8th scale rigs?

I'd go for the HPI for that same reason.

Do you have a hobby shop? Any idea on what they stock for parts for 1/8th scale rigs?