Anyone else have a Traxxas Rustler?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zoodles95

RC Newbie
Reaction score
So... I am fairly new to this crazy hobby. Bought a Stampede 4X4 VXL used locally with some nice upgrades on it. Promptly smashed it up within 5 minutes of its first drive. Bought the parts I needed to fix it and found I enjoyed repairing the thing. Decided to buy another 2 RCs used. One was this Rustler which I ended up totally taking apart and rebuilding. Before:

The transmission needed some work and once I got into it I also found that the front bulkhead was messed up. Replaced with a nice STRC aluminum bulkhead.

Lots of STRC and RPM parts added to the mix. Oh... And some blue as well...

It is almost done now that the DirtHawgs are on it.

There may well be a motor/ESC swap in the future. The next upgrades include an ESC fan which is coming in the mail. I also have a full set of GTR shocks that I am still playing around with which will likely end up on the Rustler (they were originally going to be used on my second Stampede). I am still playing around with springs etc.

Of the 3 RCs I presently own this is kind of my favourite. I have a bit of a passion for it. Perhaps it is because it had been a very abused RC that needed some TLC to bring it back (new front bulkhead and transmission rebuild and new case). Unlike my nice Stampede that came to me with some upgrades on it already I chose which parts to add to this Rustler; I chose the blue theme etc. It is almost like a reverse kit in that I disassembled it and rebuilt it onto a new chassis replacing things as I went. Was a fun process.