which connectors should I use?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CharliesTheMan

Gone - bye bye.
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
I am just getting into electrics, and of course with my addictive personality, I couldn't just get into electrics with one vehicle, lol or two. I'm building three electric stadium trucks. I'm building two Rustlers and an Associated T4. My question is regarding the connectors that I should use to connect everything. Here's what I have. I would like to standardize the connections as best I can if that makes any sense. I don't want to have different connectors on each car if I can help it, because to switch parts or even batteries from one to the other would be a lot harder. Here's what I have

Rustler 1:
XL-5 speed control
Traxxas Titan 12 turn motor
Venom 6 cell 3300 mah nimh battery pack

Rustler 2:
LRP Quantum Competition electronic speed control
Orion Revolution modified 11x2 motor
6 cell GP 4500 mah nimh battery pack that was built

Associated RC10T4
Castle Creations Sidewinder electronic speed control
CC Sidewinder 4600 kv motor
nimh batteries for now, not sure about cell configuration

I would love to use tamaya connectors for the batteries IF they are capable of handling the power of the above setups. It would make it easier intsead of cutting up batt packs and soldering new connectors, but if that's what it takes to not suffer overheating or pwerloss, I'll do it. I want to use the same connectors on the motors and ESC, so just let me know what I need to get.

I think most would prefer to use Dean's plugs. Either the standard or the micro. They are capable of handling more current. Tamiya plugs may overheat and melt and that's not good. I use Dean's on all my packs for my heli and planes.