What T Maxx have I got here?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

easy rider

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
I bought this truck sight unseen. I’m not sure what I’ve got though. The whole throttle linkage is different than anything I can find for a TMaxx. And, I’m not sure what motor it has in it.

The exhaust is dumped through the bottom of the chassis as well. It looks like the header is coming off the side of the block as well.

I picked it up for a decent price. I was thinking it was a 2.5 based on the photos from the seller. But it might be a .15. But, that throttle linkage setup is something I’ve never saw before.

Anyways, I’m new to this and was looking for a project truck and thought it’d be a good one to tinker with. The price was right too. But, it’s on its way and I won’t get to see it until Thursday. And, I’m not even sure it’s a stock Traxxas motor. So, I’m hoping to get some insight from the ecpietence here.

Thanks a head of time.

IMG_3544.png

I think I just figured out it’s a .15. Correct me if I’m wrong. Thanks ahead of time

Last edited:
Welcome to the site

Can you post more pics? It might be a smart tech tmaxx clone. Probably not due to traxxas servos, but possibly.

The .15 and 2.5 difference is the arm width. This motor is not a Traxxas. More chassis pics ND a pic of the engine block will help.

That is one way of eliminating the servo getting stuck wide open!

After looking at it, it does look like a traxxas pro.15 block. That head is not. The air filter is hpi or similar. Tra4060 is the filter assembly you need before running. You will need air filter oil also.

I can get more pics Thursday. That’s the best pic I had of the ones I obtained.