What should I work on first?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dadof2

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I am being gifted 2 nitro RC cars, neither has been run in many years. I have not received them yet but should be any day now. I am getting excited to get my hands on them. As I am new to this sport hobby wondering which model I should start with. Is 1 an easier setup than the other, is 1 have parts more readily available should I run into problems.

Traxxas Revo 2.5R or Hot Bodies Lightning 2 buggy

I have already been watching videos on cleaning and rebuilding engines. Any advice for what parts I should should be replacing immediately due to downtime in a garage? Anything I should be doing before I try to start them up.

Thanks in advance.

The revo gets my vote.. every bearing every seal every part inspect, oil.shocks diffs .fuel lines ..all..check glow plug igniter.glow plug.all.tires . get a manual go from last page to 1st..

So after a semi long wait I have received my new to me Nitro cars. I have started inspecting and creating a list of needed parts for the Revo.

What brand of nitro fuel should I use? He was using Traxxas 20%, I have seen plenty of people say this is junk. I am not planning on leaving just bashing. Where I am ordering online they have Traxxas 29%, VP 20%/9%, VP 20%/14% & sidewinder 20%.

Also he had multiple leftover bottles of shock oil a few years old. Is that still good to use or should I toss it?

Thanks for any help,

Attachments

• 20201009_214037.jpg
    20201009_214037.jpg
    287 KB · Views: 56
  • 20201009_214042.jpg
    20201009_214042.jpg
    328.1 KB · Views: 60
So after a semi long wait I have received my new to me Nitro cars. I have started inspecting and creating a list of needed parts for the Revo.