What should I do? Get a roller or buy a redcat Monsoon Xtr?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr.MadfireMoe

RCTalk Racer
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
So I am 13 but I have been working with these cars for 6 or 7 months. I own a 1/8 scale nitro buggy made by exceed, which I bought myself. But I had fun with it and now I'm looking for a 1/8 nitro truggy to play/bash with. I was thinking about going to buy a roller for an easy 290 bucks and buy a .21 go engine off line. Or I could buy a redcat Monsoon xtr that's 339 dollars, but a rtr kit. It's actually pretty nice and it's looks and all. The affordable price is not the only reason I wanted it! But with a roller I could build my on truggy and take it at the Bronx track or something.
You can give me tips and all because I'm fine with any of those! And also if I'm getting a roller, find me an engine that's not too pro that is a .21 and under 150. I found a nice new one for only 61 dollars.

-Mr. exceed Madfire

I would probably go with the Redcat, only because if buy a roller to build and then start buying parts it can get expensive in a hurry. I have an Exceed Mad Beast Nitro and I've had a few Redcats. They're OK considering what you pay for them. But it's your money so it's your call.

I would avoid ANYTHING Redcat. No real aftermarket support and parts are not the easiest to find. I'd say save a bit more and go with a more well-known brand like HPI, Traxxas, Losi, etc.

I would avoid ANYTHING Redcat. No real aftermarket support and parts are not the easiest to find. I'd say save a bit more and go with a more well-known brand like HPI, Traxxas, Losi, etc.
thanks to both of you guys. hamz9561, the redcat comes with a sh .28 though. Is that engine at least good quality?