What do i do with gears?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thatcraig

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
  3. Scale Builder
I'm just getting into the hobby and don't know much, but my gears are going out of my scx10iii and I only have 4wheel drive sometimes. So what should I do?

I would open them up and see what's going on. I'm not familiar with the scx10. But that's where I would start.

Could be a loose set screw on the drivetrain somewhere, like a driveshaft. Time to start digging into it.

from listings online: Using a 3-channel transmitter and a micro servo, you have control on demand. The SCX10™ III kit transmission can be configured in one of two ways. Set it up for 2-speed using the high and low gears or set it up for front dig to have a tighter turning radius with the rear axle locked. With a 4-channel transmitter and a second micro servo, it can be configured to use both features.

How is yours setup ?
id start with what WF said no 2nd poster
then move to your setup options. is micro servo working fully?

What's a micro servo?

The small ones you normally see on transmissions to shift gears, or used on axle lockouts. Or on dig units.

Adding a visual.
1705026074771.png

You could have a bad servo or it could be adjusted incorrectly. There isn't much in the way of screws and mechanical things to adjust. It's controlled by the transmitter.

The first thing I would do is make sure it moving completely from one side to the other. If it's not then look for loose screws and stuff. If you don't find anything check the end point adjustment on your transmitter.

Here is one example of the procedure. It actually does create earthquakes.