URGENT! Need to dispose of puffy battery

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emery Hall

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I just now noticed my lipo puffed up a little bit. How can I dispose of it??? Can I use the discharge feature on my charger and then dunk it in a bucket of salt water? If not then how? Will this thing catch on fire overnight and dispose tomorrow? The lipo is a 2s Lectron pack and is 5200mah and 7.2v. Help please, I have never done this before and I’m worried.
I just now noticed my lipo puffed up a little bit. How can I dispose of it??? Can I use the discharge feature on my charger and then dunk it in a bucket of salt water? If not then how? Will this thing catch on fire overnight and dispose tomorrow? The lipo is a 2s Lectron pack and is 5200mah and 7.2v. Help please, I have never done this before and I’m worried.
Update. The battery does not appear puffy anymore. Does this mean it’s good or should I still dispose?

Check the internal resistance, but I’m guessing that it’s still bad, if it puffed up before, it isn’t good for your application. Hook it up to a 12v incandescent or halogen car light bulb. Keep it in a fireproof box and monitor it.

Check the internal resistance, but I’m guessing that it’s still bad, if it puffed up before, it isn’t good for your application. Hook it up to a 12v incandescent or halogen car light bulb. Keep it in a fireproof box and monitor it.
I don’t have any of those things atm

Attachments

• 3F03AA2B-22D8-4DAE-B54B-B97D037D3DA0.png
    3F03AA2B-22D8-4DAE-B54B-B97D037D3DA0.png
    387.3 KB · Views: 37
Look in the manual for it, you should find it. Sometimes the manuals don’t show it like my Hitec RDX1 Pro manual.
My charger appears to not be able to do that