Traxxas Slash suspension sag

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justinc

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and have a Slash 4x4. The truck is only a couple of months old and I have just noticed that the rear suspension is sagging and will not rebound to where it use to be. It bottoms out very easily. I've sent this pic and a video to Traxxas via chat, they were rude and said its normal and that I was trying to create an issue which I am not. The springs have never been changed so shouldn't the height remain the same? Thanks!

Attachments

• 20210725_072611.jpg
    20210725_072611.jpg
    412.7 KB · Views: 945
shock springs could be worn. most likely its the shock shafts themselves. the poor geometry that is in many traxxas Leeds to bent shock shafts.. rebuild shocks with a few new parts. new springs shock rebuild kit.. check shock shafts on a flat surface...

Could be your shock fluid has leaked out or you may just need to empty and refill them with some thicker weight shock oil. You can also try stiffer springs or pre-load clips to stiffen up the existing springs a bit. First thing though is check your shock oil and make sure its full.

It is hard to say what is the culprit without seeing the actual chassis. It could be a combination of things. I am not familiar with this chassis, but based on other cars I have owned it could be the A-arms are bowed/sagging. Take pics of the chassis from the rear, top, etc.

Could be your shock fluid has leaked out or you may just need to empty and refill them with some thicker weight shock oil. You can also try stiffer springs or pre-load clips to stiffen up the existing springs a bit. First thing though is check your shock oil and make sure its full.