Traxxas E Revo VXL 1/16 Gearing Questions

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Popsmoke

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Howdy Yall!

I'm new to the hobby and I have a Traxxas E Revo VXL 1/16. I want to put the Pro Line 2.2 Trenchers on and I am wondering what to gear it to without burning ESC or motor. I'm not too worried about doing wheelies, but i want it to still be somewhat fast. I contacted a hobby shop who recommended to change the pinion gear to Traxxas 2419 48P, 19T. He did not say to change the spur gear, and didn't seem confident in his answer for that recommendation in the pinon gear.

Is this the right pinion gear to use with the stock spur gear?

or do y'all recommend something else.

Thanks in advance y'all!

-Jeff

What batteries are you going to be running, 2s or 3s Lipo voltage?

Welcome to RCT!
There are RC gear calculators you can use that will allow you to change your tire size and see what your final drive ratio is. Like this one
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sodialed.gearcalculator

With that, you can plug in the stock specs and see what the final drive ratio is stock, then input your new tire diameter and change your gear ratio til you get back to the same final drive ratio.

Just know that while you may get your RC running the same as it was before the changes, the added diameter of the tires and lower gear ratio of the gearset is going to change where you are seeing the most load on your drivetrain... meaning the weak point before the changes may be in the gearset, but the larger tires may move the weak point to the driveshafts or axles.

Last edited:
Howdy Yall!