traxxas crawlers vs Axial

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WPLGOODIE

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Hello all -

I know everyone out their has their opinions and likes and dislikes when it comes to RC... but I was wondering what people think. I am looking into getting a crawler. I am new to the crawler world (and the hobby) and was wondering... Traxxas VS Axial? If you guys can let me know what you think that would be awesome!

Thanks!

I have a Traxxas Defender and an Axial SCX10 III Jeep. Both do well out of the box, but I find the Traxxas slightly better in performance and runs smoother. Both will significantly perform better with a bit of brass down low, especially the top heavy Defender body.
The TRX4 2 speeds works great, although I find that leaving it in the faster gearing works find for slow crawling, so I don't even ever shift into low. The stock esc did crap out on me, so I replaced it with inexpensive, but solid $40 Hobbywing.
The SCX10 III has a digital unit built in that is controlled thru the remote via a micro servo. These servos are total pieces of đź’©! Replaced them 3 times and they still die after just a few uses (yes, I've properly set endpoints). I find the dig function underwhelming anyways, so I just leave the 3rd dead servo in the non-dig selection, permanently!
Here's an excellent comparison video.

0615211729a.jpg

This is my Pepper Posse!

All of my crawlers are based on the SCX10 platform and a couple Redcat crawlers.
I can't honestly give my opinion on the TRX crawler because I've never owned one but I am going to purchase the TRX4 sport kit.
I've never believed in the "what's the best" category because they are all great rigs,
so it's about what we put into them.