Stick Transmitter Schemes

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aPpYe

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I have an MOA with Dual ESCs and 4WS. I decided to go with dual sticks and a 4 channel setup because of the level of fine control it allows. This is my first time doing such a thing.

Here's my issue:

Because it made the most logical sense to me, I started off by going with the following scheme:
Code:
LEFT STICK               RIGHT STICK
 Front Servo              Rear Servo
 Front ESC                Rear ESC
... Initially I found that the steering felt a somewhat backwards (I guess because I am used to turning the wheel with my right hand to control the front steering on my X-Maxx), but I stuck with it for a week or so. Today I found that I was still mixing up the throttle channels, resulting in disaster on the rocks. Perhaps unwisely, I decided to reverse things as follows:
Code:
 Rear Servo               Front Servo
 Rear ESC                 Front ESC
... This made my brain happy as far as throttle goes, but I guess I had trained myself (formed the neural pathways?) by this point to like the steering as it was originally. My brain was starting to feel the stress. I then tried this insanity for about fifteen minutes:
Code:
 Front ESC                Rear ESC
... The idea (I guess) being that steering is "supposed" to be done with the right stick on a standard 2 channel setup. My brain was indeed happy with the steering and throttle for a little while, at least tooling around on the living room floor, but it was just too weird when I got on the rocks. Stress fractures began forming on my cerebellum. I then went with this idea:
Code:
 Rear Servo (REVERSED)    Front Servo (REVERSED)