Steering problem on nitro monster truck

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeffgnz

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi there,
I am new to this, just recently got a cheap HSP RTR monster truck to try out nitro RC for the first time. It has been running fine, but now the steering is really limited (only turns very slightly in a very wide arc).
I've read a lot of posts on this and other forums about it, and done a few checks:
  1. The physical steering is working fine if I push/pull the steering arm (when disconnected from the servo)
  2. The same problem occurs if I replace the on-board batteries
  3. I switched the steering/throttle channels on the receiver. The steering then works fine with the trigger, but the throttle servo now has the limited range of movement.
  4. Put everything back how it should be, dismantled the transmitter to check no loose connections behind the steering wheel. All looks fine (to my inexperienced eyes at least).
  5. Battery indicator on the transmitter is green, so no battery issues there.
I am left with the conclusion that I need to replace the receiver. Does this sound right to you guys?
Thanks in advance!
Cheers,
Jeff

It sounds like it could be the servo itself. If the throttle servo is working then, it is not the receiver.

It sounds like it could be the servo itself. If the throttle servo is working then, it is not the receiver.
Thanks for the quick reply! I think the steering servo is OK, because it worked fine when I plugged it into the throttle channel on the receiver.

That is a weird issue ,my thoughts was in the transmitter servo adjusters ,like EP an stuff like that!
What are the transmitter servo adjusters? And EP?
The steering trim from the transmitter works fine.