Spektrum "Avian" ESC reversing.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CharlesLinquist

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I bought a used plane with a Spektrum "Avian" 60A ESC. The plane had reverse thrust enabled when used with a Spektrum transmitter and receiver. I want to use the reverse-thrust feature, but I do not (and don't plan to buy) a Spektrum receiver or transmitter. I will use this ESC with a CUBE autopilot and FrSky transmitter. I'm an Electrical Engineer and I completely understand ESC protocols like PWM and D-Shot. The ESC works fine - in one direction only - using standard 1000-2000 us PWM.

My question is - how do I get this ESC to reverse without using a Spektrum setup? If necessary, I can write code to provide any kind of signals to the ESC, but don't know what is required to get it to reverse. Does it respond to D-Shot or some other serial binary format in order to accomplish this?

The ESC already has Reverse Thrust ENABLED. The guy I bought the plane from used it all the time. But I do not want to use the Spektrum receiver because it lacks