Setup for 21.5?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skurtreynolds

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
Noob here, going to build my first 2wd buggy to race at my local track. I’m having a very hard time finding an answer to a basic question.

Should my initial setup be anything but default if I’m racing 21.5 2wd buggy? Should I even bother with any of the setup sheets I see posted on so-dialed?

Most of the setups I see posted on so-dialed are for open/mod class low turn motors. Are the setups the same for the slower 21.5/spec builds? Sorry if I’m using the wrong terminology!

You definitely want to find a stock setup which will be slightly different because a slower car will need a more aggressive setup to carry more corner speed. A Mod setup needs to be more stable to handle the extra power.

Any 17.5T setup would be fine to start with, even better to get a setup from a local team driver who's already put the work into tuning for your current track conditions.

You definitely want to find a stock setup which will be slightly different because a slower car will need a more aggressive setup to carry more corner speed. A Mod setup needs to be more stable to handle the extra power.

Any 17.5T setup would be fine to start with, even better to get a setup from a local team driver who's already put the work into tuning for your current track conditions.
Thanks, Bill. I’m glad I asked. I think what I’ll do is build with basic 21.5 electronics on the default setup and head down to the track and meet some people down there and see what they’ve got going on. I’m sure that no matter what I do I’ll probably need a lot of reps before I can realize any changes I need from stock? Or would they be obvious even for a racer?