Pull start won't retract

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaputoNL001

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
Pull start won't retract, is it a bad pull start or bad one way bearing or both?

Sorry for the basic question, I'm a rookie.

The spring broke due to being pulled out too far!
That's the weird thing, it happened right as I pulled. Just barely started the pull and all resistance was lost.

That's the weird thing, it happened right as I pulled. Just barely started the pull and all resistance was lost.

You should never pull one out all the way ,only short pulls!

If you take it apart ,the spring will have broke at the bend were it catches in the plastic crevase of the pulley ,
you can not just bend a hook in it ,it has to be heated and bent to bend a hook in it as the metal spring is fragile!

It is repairable if you have finger strength!....:hehe:

You should never pull one out all the way ,only short pulls!

If you take it apart ,the spring will have broke at the bend were it catches in the plastic crevase of the pulley ,
you can not just bend a hook in it ,it has to be heated and bent to bend a hook in it as the metal spring is fragile!

It is repairable if you have finger strength!....:hehe:
i don’t pull it all the way out, it lost all resistance as soon as i pulled and just dangled with less then 1-1/2” of string pulled out.

i pulled the motor, took the pull start off....nothing broken inside. i can pull the string and the cord retracts when the pull start is not on the motor. i’m confused now

i don’t pull it all the way out, it lost all resistance as soon as i pulled and just dangled with less then 1-1/2” of string pulled out.