Our Age / Location Etc!, How old were you when you first got into modelling?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Malakite

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi guys,

As you all know I am a total Newbie to this site (and loving it btw!) and thought it might be interesting to see how old you all were when you first got into modelling, what your first car was, how you got into it, and also your age now and when you got back into it (if you ever left of course?!).

I hope I don't sound intrusive and of course you don't have to say your age if you don't want to, but I thought it might be fun and to see if there is a pattern at all?

OK i'll start:-

I always liked radio controlled cars, and a mate of mine in Junior school had a Turbo Panther (remember those?..there was a 'turbo' button on the controller for extra speed!). Then my old man got a Turbo Beetle from Tandy, then my uncle bought a 'Chipmunk' (remember those?!) and it went on from there. Of course all of these were pre built in their box.

I was about 11 when I first walked into a serious modelling shop to see the real big boys toys! I ended up getting for Christmas a Mauri Ninja and spent a few hours every night with my dad building it leading up to Christmas. Man I was STOKED when I actually got to use it!!