New motor/esc Losi Mini 8ight

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DerekPike

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
So I've been researching a new motor and esc for my Losi Mini 8ight. I just got this last week and it has a Velinion 4000 kv and the original esc in it. I will probably stick with 2s as I'm worried 3s will break things. The first place I looked was Castle.

http://www.castlecreations.com/en/mamba-micro-x

Bear in mind I'm pretty new to RC and even newer to electric. So I tried doing some of my own research and seemed like every website I looked at conflicted with another. One website (forum) said the 0808 worked and even showed pictures.

Another site recommended this motor out of Sweden, but said it required some dremeling.

http://www.smartteknik.se/uk/brushless-motors/motor-lbps2838-45005600kv-4-pole-380-size.html

Some recommended a Castle esc and some said to use an EZrun. So I thought I would ask someone with more experience and knowledge than myself.

Would I be better off (assuming Castle is recommended) to go with the 4100 or the 5300?

Lastly, what gearing should I run? If I go with the 4100 I wouldn't think it would change, but if I go with the 5300? And I'm not sure what the gearing is currently. I'm at work and sadly the RC isn't here with me. Thanks in advance for the responses.