Need for Speed

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dbnjzb

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Ok, so I'm new to brushless and lipo technology. I just put a brushless system in my savage x. I put a 2560kv 6 turn motor and a 150amp ESC. Currently, I'm using 2 2s 5000mah lipos. I have a 44 spur and a 25 pinion gear. My problem is I don't feel like things are fast enough!

What's the largest batteries I could use with this setup? Would a change in gearing help? I mean I'm not doing backflips from a standstill! :) No but really any ideas? I appreciate it! Oh and Happy New Year!!

It sounds like your electronics are plenty juiced up and ready to pop, I would explore differant gearing ratios & go from there, one of the Savy gurus will chime in and tell me to either shut up cause I am an idiot, or tell you some good gear ratios, or both :D

It sounds like your electronics are plenty juiced up and ready to pop, I would explore differant gearing ratios & go from there, one of the Savy gurus will chime in and tell me to either shut up cause I am an idiot, or tell you some good gear ratios, or both :D

Thanks! It seems like that I'm not sure, that's funny! It's ok! Actually, the pinion I'm using is a 20 tooth. Just to make a correction. Good gear ratios would be nice to know.

---------- Post added at 12:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

I also have on hand a 25 tooth pinion.

You should be able to use 2 3s batteries with a minimum rating of 30C @ 5000 mah. As for battery size I don't know what will fit. Keep an eye on esc and motor temps, anything over 180 is BAD.