I've been using my Kraton 6s for a few months now. The problem is that 4 batteries have now failed internally, and I have no Idea why.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gordons_Hobbies

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
  3. Crawling
The batteries I am using are 3-cell Gens-Ace Pro bashing batteries (8000mah). Other than some flakes of plastic coming off of the outer cover from the stickers, the batteries appear to be in good shape, including the contacts. However, upon charging, I am given the DISCONNECT warning from my charger, which always charged batteries properly. This includes the ones that failed. Any ideas why?

Where I live, there is nowhere for proper extreme bashing (i.e. skateparks or pump tracks) other than the quarry, where I try to avoid smacking into big things. So again, any ideas why these batteries simply refuse to work?

If the lipos work well with the ESC in the car than it must be the charger. What charger are you using? Are you using the correct settings? For those batteries it should be lipo, 3s(11.1V) 8.0amp charge rate for 1C, and balance charge or normal charge.

My charger doesn't go above 6A, for one. It defaulted to 2A and has yet to kill any of my 2-cell batteries.
For another, i always make sure that the voltage is set correctly and if it's notl the charger makes a sound, flashes a warning and doesn't charge the battery, be it too high or low a voltage setting.

I use a B6 V2 balance charger.