How full should diffs be?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jmacca

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hello all,

I'm new to the whole filling diffs with fluid stuff and the manual that came with my car is not very specific. how much oil should i put in the diffs? and will they act like 1/10 diffs w/ no oil in them in that when one wheel spins the other wheel spins the opposite way?

Thanks.

I can't help with the fluid amount, (I'm new to RC diffs as well) but as to the way they perform, w/o the wheels being on the ground (ie: no traction) the diff will always spin the opposite wheel in the other direction. That's just how they work.. When the wheels are on the ground it lets one wheel spin faster than the other, when turning, (the thicker the fluid, the less effect it'll have) but when the axle is off the ground, the wheels will spin opposite directions unles you use a "locker" of somekind.. Same with a 1:1 car, if ya jack up the rearend and spin a wheel clockwise, the other will spin counter-clockwise.. Sorry for the "un-technical" explination, but that's basically how they work. :)

Last edited:
fill them just above the cross bars. they will still act like a diff, but will be harder to make the other wheel spin.

Thanks for your posts, they has been very helpful.

fill them just above the cross bars. they will still act like a diff, but will be harder to make the other wheel spin.

When you say cross bars. . .what are you referring too. . .i am just curious because i have to rebuild the diffs in my mini e-revo and i wanna put some 30wt diff fluid in both of them and i don't know how far to fill them. Thank you in advance

Fill em just above the gears....so the gears are under the fluid. No need to top off the diff cup