Help with rock crawler purchase

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BamaFan

ROLL TIDE!!
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Ok guys need yall honest opinion on what is the best 1/8 scale rock crawler. Or do I need to go 1/10 scale. I'm completely new to rc rock crawling but it looks fun. I'm a nitro guy all the way so I will need everything for electric. Steer me in the right direction into what I will need as far as whats the best batteries to run and chargers etc. I really like the toyota body set up or the all out rock crawler with weighted wheels. I want this thing to be a beast so lets hear it guys whats my best choices out there right now. My budget is between $350-500 just to get started. I know I will spend more than that as time goes but I'm capping it at that to see if I will really enjoy it that much. Thanks guys I'm open to all suggestions.

Your gonna need to figure out a few things first. You had mentioned the Toyota body (does look pretty cool set up as a truggy) but also a comp type crawler. They are two different beasts in themselves. Do you want a capable "realistic" rig to scale crawl with or a full out comp type rig primarily for just difficult rock formations? My experience is it is near impossible to find a capable rig to do both. Also when looking at a comp type rig you have MOA (motor on axle) or a shaft drive type rig that can be used. Typically the moa is more competitive but I've seen plenty of VERY capable shaftys do just as well.